Feral Research Coalition

Feral Research Coalition

Navigation Menu

Co-Present Film Festival (session 11) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Co-Present Film Festival (session 11) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Posted by on Sep 4, 2014 in Featured, Projects |

On Saturday, September 13th, we’ll resume the Co-Present Film Festival with a Robocop double-feature. The original film and most recent remake span nearly 27 years and two vasty different but innovative directors. After recently viewing the 2014 film and re-watching the original, I couldn’t help but be struck by the incredible parallels and differences in culture. There’s also likely few better times to revisit Robocop, in any form, than in proximity to the recent events in Ferguson. Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. Communicate through the #CPFF11 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock. If you can’t join us on the 13th, the next film festival will be announced as soon as possible.   THE SCHEDULE :   BEGIN 8am MST / 11am EDT / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET / 7pm GST ROBOCOP (1987) One sentence summary: A nearly-slain cop becomes half-man, half-robot; questions regarding justice and humanity ensue. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 945am MST / 1245pm EDT / 545pm GMT / 645pm CET / 845pm GST 15 minute break   10am MST / 1pm EDT / 6pm GMT / 7pm CET / 9pm GST ROBOCOP (2014) One sentence summary: A nearly-slain cop becomes half-man, half-robot; questions regarding justice and humanity ensue. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link approx. 12pm MST / 3pm EDT / 8pm GMT / 9pm CET / 11pm GST –...

Read More

Co-Present Film Festival (session 10) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Co-Present Film Festival (session 10) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Posted by on Jul 5, 2014 in Featured, Projects |

After an unintentionally long hiatus, we will resume the Co-Present Film Festival on Sunday, July 20th. We’ll revert back to our common format of viewing multiple films by multiple directors. The 10th session’s selections span 43 years and three considerably different cultures. Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. Communicate through the #CPFF10 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock. If you can’t join us on the 20th, we’ll announce the dates and films for future months soon.   THE SCHEDULE :   BEGIN 8am MST / 11am EDT / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET / 7pm GST GEORGE WASHINGTON One sentence summary: A 12-year-old narrates a story of a small town, a summer, and a tragedy. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 930am MST / 1230pm EDT / 530pm GMT / 630pm CET / 830pm GST 15 minute break   945am MST / 1245pm EDT / 545pm GMT / 645pm CET / 845pm GST VELVET GOLDMINE One sentence summary: A journalist investigates the glam rock idols of his past. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 1145am MST / 245pm EDT / 745pm GMT / 845pm CET / 1045pm GST 15 minute break   12pm MST / 3pm EDT / 8pm GMT / 9pm CET / 11pm GST NIGHTS OF CABIRIA (Le Notti di Cabiria) One sentence summary: Despite her challenging existence, and her predilection for meeting men who want to kill her for her money, Cabiria displays an indelible spirit for survival. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 2pm MST / 5pm EDT / 10pm GMT / 11pm CET / 1am GST –...

Read More

Co-Present Film Festival (session 9) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Co-Present Film Festival (session 9) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Posted by on Feb 1, 2014 in Featured, Projects |

The ninth session of the Co-Present Film Festival will take place on Saturday, February 15th. We’re going to take a different approach to this one; we’ll watch only 2 films—a double-feature of The Manchurian Candidate. With 42 years between the original and the remake, it’s a similar story told within different contexts. Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. Communicate through the #CPFF9 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock. If you can’t join us on the 15th, we’ll announce the dates and films for March and April soon.   THE SCHEDULE :   BEGIN 730am MST / 930am EST / 230pm GMT / 330pm CET / 630pm GST THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE, 1962 VERSION One sentence summary: The son of a prominent right-wing political family is brainwashed as part of a Communist conspiracy; complicated chaos ensues. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 945am MST / 1145pm EST / 445pm GMT / 545pm CET / 845pm GST 15 minute break   10am MST / 12pm EST / 500pm GMT / 600pm CET / 900pm GST THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE, 2004 VERSION One sentence summary: An Army veteran of the Gulf War realizes that he was involved as a test subject in a nanotechnological experiment; complicated chaos ensues. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 1215pm MST / 215pm EST / 715pm GMT / 815pm CET / 1115pm GST –...

Read More

Co-Present Film Festival (session 8) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Co-Present Film Festival (session 8) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Posted by on Jan 18, 2014 in Featured, Projects |

The eighth session of the Co-Present Film Festival will take place on Saturday, January 25th. The schedule is listed below. Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. Communicate through the #CPFF8 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock. If you can’t join us on the 25th, we’ll announce the dates and films for February and March soon.   THE SCHEDULE :   BEGIN 8am MST / 10am EST / 3pm GMT / 4pm CET / 7pm GST SLEEPERS One sentence summary: Friendship and revenge cross decades. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 1030am MST / 1230pm EST / 530pm GMT / 630pm CET / 930pm GST 15 minute break   1045am MST / 1245pm EST / 545pm GMT / 645pm CET / 945pm GST BIRDMAN OF ALCATRAZ One sentence summary: The Birdman (based on the life of Robert Stroud) collects birds while in prison, becomes an expert on avian disease. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 115pm MST / 315pm EST / 815pm GMT / 915pm CET / 1215am GST 15 minute break   130pm MST / 330pm EST / 830pm GMT / 930pm CET / 1230am GST THE ISLAND One sentence summary: “Harvestable beings” attempt to escape. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 345pm MST / 545pm EST / 1045pm GMT / 1145pm CET / 245am GST –...

Read More

Co-Present Film Festival (session 7) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Co-Present Film Festival (session 7) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Posted by on Dec 14, 2013 in Featured, Projects |

The seventh session of the Co-Present Film Festival will take place on Saturday, December 21st. The schedule is listed below. This month, we’ll follow 18 years of the case that came to be known as the West Memphis Three. The first three films are by the same creators; the fourth film brings a summarizing and slightly different perspective to the end of the case. Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. Communicate through the #CPFF7 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock. If you can’t join us on the 21st, we’ll announce the films and dates for early 2014 soon.   THE SCHEDULE :   BEGIN 630am MST / 830am EST / 130pm GMT / 230pm CET / 530pm GST PARADISE LOST: THE CHILD MURDERS AT ROBIN HOOD HILLS One sentence summary: Three children are found dead; three teenagers are accused of murder. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 9am MST / 11am EST / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET / 8pm GST 15 minute break   915am MST / 1115am EST / 415pm GMT / 515pm CET / 815pm GST PARADISE LOST 2: REVELATIONS One sentence summary: The three teens now convicted, but believed by many to be wrongly accused, the documentarians continue to attempt to unravel the complexity of both the conviction and the crime. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 1130pm MST / 130pm EST / 630pm GMT / 730pm CET / 1030pm GST 15 minute break   1145am MST / 145pm EST / 645pm GMT / 745pm CET / 1045pm GST PARADISE LOST 3: PURGATORY One sentence summary: This third documentary in the series follows the case through to the end of the West Memphis Three’s 18 years spent in prison. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 145pm MST / 345pm EST / 845pm GMT / 945pm CET / 1245am GST 15 minute break   2pm MST / 4pm EST / 9pm GMT / 10pm CET / 1am GST WEST OF MEMPHIS One sentence summary: This documents a single history of the case...

Read More