Feral Research Coalition

Feral Research Coalition

Navigation Menu

Co-Present Film Festival (session 7) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Co-Present Film Festival (session 7) : Prisons Real & Imagined, Schedule

Posted by on Dec 14, 2013 in Featured, Projects |

The seventh session of the Co-Present Film Festival will take place on Saturday, December 21st. The schedule is listed below. This month, we’ll follow 18 years of the case that came to be known as the West Memphis Three. The first three films are by the same creators; the fourth film brings a summarizing and slightly different perspective to the end of the case. Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. Communicate through the #CPFF7 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock. If you can’t join us on the 21st, we’ll announce the films and dates for early 2014 soon.   THE SCHEDULE :   BEGIN 630am MST / 830am EST / 130pm GMT / 230pm CET / 530pm GST PARADISE LOST: THE CHILD MURDERS AT ROBIN HOOD HILLS One sentence summary: Three children are found dead; three teenagers are accused of murder. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 9am MST / 11am EST / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET / 8pm GST 15 minute break   915am MST / 1115am EST / 415pm GMT / 515pm CET / 815pm GST PARADISE LOST 2: REVELATIONS One sentence summary: The three teens now convicted, but believed by many to be wrongly accused, the documentarians continue to attempt to unravel the complexity of both the conviction and the crime. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 1130pm MST / 130pm EST / 630pm GMT / 730pm CET / 1030pm GST 15 minute break   1145am MST / 145pm EST / 645pm GMT / 745pm CET / 1045pm GST PARADISE LOST 3: PURGATORY One sentence summary: This third documentary in the series follows the case through to the end of the West Memphis Three’s 18 years spent in prison. IMDB Link Wikipedia Link   approx. 145pm MST / 345pm EST / 845pm GMT / 945pm CET / 1245am GST 15 minute break   2pm MST / 4pm EST / 9pm GMT / 10pm CET / 1am GST WEST OF MEMPHIS One sentence summary: This documents a single history of the case...

Read More

Minimum Viable Artwork

Minimum Viable Artwork

Posted by on Dec 11, 2013 in Featured, Uncategorized |

“The New Museum, New York, plans to transform a warehouse next to its Bowery home into an “incubator” for cutting-edge art, design and technology. Due to open in summer 2014, the centre will be open 24 hours a day, seven days a week and will become the home of more than 60 start-ups and creative entrepreneurs.“ That established cultural institutions are having a hard time relating to art and culture made with contemporary technology is painfully apparent. That they want to remedy this by turning towards the incubator model only shows how desperately regressive they are. My trips to NYC usually include at least one visit to MoMA and the New Museum. I love museums and always have. I enjoy seeing what’s on, even if the work isn’t always inspiring, and I appreciate the historical retrospectives that only a good and well funded archive can support.  I also enjoy being surprised. I usually hate design exhibitions, but I thought MoMA’s Design and the Elastic Mind (2008) was well done, and the New Museum’s Ghosts in the Machine (2012), while not perfect, was an intriguing and much needed look at the roots of contemporary art and tech practice (although the List Center’s Stan VanDerBeek retrospective (2011) was better.) Some museums, like the Museum Tinguely in Basel which hosted METAMATIC Reloaded (2013), or the DeCordova which held a Pat Keck retrospective (2004),  are worth noting because they more than occasionally seek out and engage art practitioners who are working in the field of art and technology but, and this is key: probably don’t look like it. It is unlikely that any of the artists featured in the exhibitions I mentioned above will be found writing Python code over a cafe midnight at Ritual (unless it’s their day job) because, for the most part, in the ecosystem of the artists I admire who are chasing the meat of art and tech, there couldn’t be three institutions less relevant than New York’s major museums, startup culture and (since I’m barbecuing sacred cows): hacker spaces. This is not to say that these institutions are inherently evil or bad at what they do, it’s just to say that they...

Read More